AFE Gala Raises $75,000 for Albany Students!

Thank you to everyone who made AFE’s 24th annual Gala an amazing success. Together, we raised more than $75,000 to support Albany students! Click here to see photos from the event.

These funds will…

  • Provide students who depend on school meals with weekend food support year-round and create school food pantries to serve them and their families
  • Revitalize donated instruments so that all students have high quality instruments to play and underwrite AFE’s Music Practice Clubs
  • Fund grants to open new horizons for our students. In 2022, AFE gave more than $35,000 in grants to teachers and schools to provide exciting science and math materials, bring history to life through field trips, and create calming spaces for students who need safe ways to cope with overwhelming emotions
  • Connect children with nature through tree-planting and environmental education initiatives
  • And much more!

We honored B. Lodge and Co., the Radix Ecological Sustainability Center, David L. Simon (in memoriam), and Ronald G. Dunn for the deep impact they have had on the lives of Albany’s students and the vitality of Albany’s schools. Learn more about them!

Thank you to our Sponsors, Honorary Committee Members, and In-Kind Donors

Summa Cum Laude Sponsors


Cum Laude Sponsors

Honeywell Logo

Cum Laude – Individuals

David and Margie Amodeo
Chuck and Barbara Manning
Chet and Karen Opalka
Linda Pelosi-Dunn and Ronald Dunn

Honor Society Sponsors

Albany Police Athletic League
Albany Public Schools Administrators’ Association
The BACK Community, LLC
Camp WA WA Segowea
Gleason, Dunn, Walsh & O’Shea
G.R.O.W./Kirsten A. Hernandez
Honest Weight Food Co-op
Modern Press
NBT Bank
United Way of the Greater Capital Region

Honor Society Individuals

Ellen M. Bach and Robert V. Kelley
Charles and Charlotte Buchanan
Albert R. De Salvo
Amal Hechehouche & Tim Cooney
Hon. Darius Shahinfar and Noelle Kinsch
Dr. Kerstin Medwin and Sean McGarry
Varada Pandya-Vaughan
Carolyn Peterson-Vaccaro and Mario Vaccaro
Jim and Roberta Read
Amy Savoie
Onnolee and Larry Smith
Audrey Smolin and Charlie Shopsis
Lisa and Jonathan Thomson
Bob and Deb Ward

Honorary Committee Members

Natalie Aiello and Bob Paley
Albany ENT & Allergy Services
Michele Atallah and George Benson
AVillage Inc.
Ken Baker
Kathryn and Joseph Bamberger
Sheryl and Steve Baum
Judy Bonds
Albert W. Brooks
Alex Casale
Ashley Chapple
Drs. Sita Subbaram and Sridar Chittur
Kathleen Concordia
Francis and Mary Cosgrove
John and Natalie Criscione
Susan D’Entremont and John B. Jones
Gene Damm
Violetta De Rosa
Judy Doesschate and Tom Keefe
Susan J. DuBois
Duke’s Barber Shop
Hon. Corey L. Ellis
Anne Erling
Assemblywoman Patricia Fahy
Dr. F. Maxine Fantroy-Ford
Hon. Ginnie Farrell
Sean and Sara Fitzsimons
Elaine C. Freedman
Ann G. Gifford
Dr. Virginia Goatley & Dr. Cheryl Dozier, University at Albany
Jeffrey Gordon
Homeless and Travelers Aid Society
Canon Kay Carol Hotaling, FHC
Cynthia Houser
Robert and Pamela Howell
Julie and Bernard Huss
Karen M. Jones
Dr. Eva Joseph and Dr. Bob Wishnoff
Hon. Andrew and Jennifer Joyce
Janine Jurkowski
Nichole and Daniel Katz
Hon. Meghan Keegan
Tracie Killar
Steve King and Margaret Lamar King
Denise and Ted Kolankowski
Hon. Ellen Krejci
Rosemary Lamb
Orah LeHockey
Martha and Leo Levy
Jim and Thea MacFawn
Whitney Malone
Bryan and Marina Marcou-O’Malley
Paul Masters and Jill Taylor
Sara McGraw
Dr. Kirsten Medwin and Sean McGarry
Gail and Bill Meehan
Lee-Ann T. Mertzlufft
Jeff Mirel
Annette Nanes
Conly Rieder and Susan Nowogrodzki
Ruth Pelham
Pratt & Associates
Melissa Puicon-Healey and Graham Healey
Brooke Raveendranath
Dr. Scott Dolan and Sarah Reginelli
Timitra Rose
Lauren Ryba and Carrie Barnett
Hon. Anne Savage
Hon. Kathy Sheehan and Mr. Bob Sheehan
Mari Shopsis
Barbara Siegel
Ken and Marggie Skinner
Johanna Steper
Theresa Story
Karen and Todd Strong
Mary E. Sullivan
Theresa and Carl Swidorski
Bill Ritchie and Anita Thayer
Erin Tobin and Roger Bearden
Congressman Paul Tonko
Theresa Vaughan and David Cherubin
Joana Duran and Daniel Vaughan-Cherubin
Nancy J. Wawrla
Emma and Joseph Wolfe
Hon. Deborah and Dr. Joshua Zamer

In-Kind Donors

Albany High Jazz Ensemble
Abrookin Culinary Program
The Balloonary
Caffe Italia
Cookie Boss
The Cuckoo’s Nest
DJ Trumastr
Emil J. Nagengast Florist
Honest Weight Food Co-op
Kismet Grill
Old Daley Inn