25th Annual AFE Gala to be held
Saturday, April 20, 2024 at the Albany Barn

Join us as we celebrate together and honor Kizzy Williams, Young Futures, and John Keal Music Company
for their work improving the lives of Albany students.

We also honor long-time AFE Board Members Onnolee Smith and Barry Walston as they step down from a combined 41 years of service!

Tickets are available at the door with cash, check, or Venmo

Order of Events

6pm – Champagne Toast for Corporate Sponsors, Honorary Committee Members, and Honorees
Albany High Jazz Band plays

6:30 pm – General admission – dining stations open
Albany High Jazz Band plays

7:30 pm – Presentation of Awards

8:30 – 10:30 pm – Afterparty with DJ Trumastr! Bring your dancing shoes!

Thank you to our 2024 Gala Sponsors!

List as of 4/18/2024

Magna Cum Laude Sponsors





Cum Laude Sponsors

Honor Society Sponsors

Honeywell Logo

Honor Roll Sponsors

Albany Police Athletic League
Albany Public Schools Administrators Association
Camp WA WA Segowea
Emack and Bolio’s
Honest Weight Food Coop
Modern Press
The Rosenblum Companies
Three Buckets Wealth Management

Thank you Honorary Committee Members!

Cum Laude Individuals

Ron Dunn and Linda Pelosi-Dunn
Supt. Joseph E. Hochreiter
Hon. Andrew Joyce and Jennifer Joyce
Chuck and Barbara Manning

Honor Roll

David and Margie Amodeo
Albert R. De Salvo
Sean McGarry and Dr. Kerstin Medwin
Annette Nanes and Scott Meyer
Varada Pandya-Vaughan
Mario Vaccaro and Carolyn Peterson-Vaccaro
Bobbie Siegel
Charles Shopsis & Audrey Smolin
Onnolee and Larry Smith
Lisa, Jonathan and Grace Thomson

Honorary Committee

Eric and Kaweeda G. Adams
Aimee Allaud
Hon. Dr. Dorcey L. Applyrs
Ellen Bach and Robert Kelley
Ken Baker
Kathryn and Joe Bamberger
Steve and Sheryl Baum
Roger Bearden and Erin Tobin
Judy Bonds
Peter Casale
Ashley Chapple
Francis and Mary Cosgrove
Martin Daley and Jennifer Ceponis
Karen Dalland
Susan D’Entremont
Frank DelSignore
Violetta De Rosa
Michael R. DeVall
Judy Doesschate and Tom Keefe
Susan Dubois
Amy Ellis
Hon. Patricia Fahy
Dr. F. Maxine Fantroy-Ford
Hon. Ginnie Farrell
Sean and Sara Fitzsimons
Hon. Jack Flynn
Marisa Franchini, Esq.
Elaine C. Freedman / Venture Realty Partners
Peter Gannon
Ann G. Gifford
Virginia Goatley/University at Albany School of Education
Abigail Gomes
Heidi Gordon and Jay Baker
Amal Hechehouche and Tim Cooney
Liz Hitt and Christine Smith
Richard Honen and Lisa House
Canon Kay Carol Hotaling, FHC
Robert and Pamela Howell
Bernie and Julie Huss
Beverly L. Ivey
Linda Jackson-Chalmers and William Chalmers
Karen M. Jones
Karen-Christina Jones
Dr. Eva C. Joseph and Dr. Bob Wishnoff
Hon. Ray Joyce
Janine Jurkowski
Daniel and Nichole Katz
Holly Katz and William Harris
Hon. Meghan Keegan
Christine Miles Kelliher
Steve and Margaret Lamar King
Hon. Darius Shahinfar and Noelle Kinsch
Ted and Denise Kolankowski
Hon. Ellen Krejci
Nettye Lamkay
Orah LeHockey
Dr. Ken Lein
Ron and Katie Lesko
Martha and Leo Levy
Jim and Thea MacFawn
Whitney Malone
Marina and Bryan Marcou-O’Malley
Joe and Sarah Matzner
Hon. John T. McDonald III
Sara McGraw
Maria and Roger Markovics
Paul Masters and Jill Taylor
Gail and Bill Meehan
Meier Law Firm, PLLC
Elizabeth Morphy
Ruth Pelham
Rachel Pearlman and Seth Rosenthal
Mary Pilkington and Rick Genero
Bonnie Premo
Aaron and Claire Proffitt
Melissa Puicon-Healey and Graham Healey
Brooke Raveendranath
Jim and Roberta Read
Dr. Scott Dolan & Sarah Reginelli
Hon. Dustin M. Reidy
Timitra N. Rose
Hon. Anne Savage
Amy Savoie
Hon. Kathy Sheehan and Mr. Bob Sheehan
Samantha and JP Shipherd
Ken and Marggie Skinner
Johanna Steper
Bill Stoneman
Karen and Todd Strong
Ellen Sullivan
Theresa and Carl Swidorski
Bill Ritchie and Anita Thayer
Kate Thies
Congressman Paul Tonko
Theresa Vaughan and David Cherubin
Wallace Turner Law
Nancy J. Wawrla
Wheel House Designs
Hon. Tabetha Wilson
Joe and Emma Wolfe
Hon. Deborah Zamer and Dr. Joshua Zamer

Many thanks to our Bid for Kids’ Sake Auction donors, who helped us raise almost $14,000 for AFE and another $1,000 for the Albany Marching Falcons France Trip!

2023 AFE Annual Gala Slideshow Photos

Thank you to everyone who made AFE’s 24th annual Gala an amazing success. Together, we raised more than $75,000 to support Albany students!

These funds will…

  • Provide students who depend on school meals with weekend food support year-round and create school food pantries to serve them and their families
  • Revitalize donated instruments so that all students have high quality instruments to play and underwrite AFE’s Music Practice Clubs
  • Fund grants to open new horizons for our students. In 2022, AFE gave more than $35,000 in grants to teachers and schools to provide exciting science and math materials, bring history to life through field trips, and create calming spaces for students who need safe ways to cope with overwhelming emotions
  • Connect children with nature through tree-planting and environmental education initiatives
  • And much more!

We honored B. Lodge and Co., the Radix Ecological Sustainability Center, David L. Simon (in memoriam), and Ronald G. Dunn for the deep impact they have had on the lives of Albany’s students and the vitality of Albany’s schools. Learn more about them!